Time-of-Use (TOU)

The majority of Niagara-on-the-Lake Hydro’s residential and small business customers pay Time-of-Use (TOU) rates on their consumption.

Time-of-Use prices reflect the fact that the cost to provide electricity changes throughout the day. When demand is low, less expensive sources of electricity are used. When demand rises, more expensive forms of electricity production are called upon, making prices higher. The price periods are a blending of forecast wholesale costs with the anticipated global adjustment.

In summer, on-peak prices apply during the middle of the weekday (from 11 a.m. to 5 p.m.), reflecting the increase in air conditioning use. In winter, on-peak prices apply in the morning (7 a.m. to 11 a.m.) and evening (5 p.m. to 7 p.m.), when demand ramps up as residential electricity use increases. During weekends and holidays, all hours of the day are off-peak.

2019 Holiday Schedule (24 hours of Off-Peak)

Date Holiday Date Holiday
Tues, Jan 1 New Year’s Day Mon, Aug 5 Civic Holiday
Mon, Feb 18 Family Day Mon, Sept 2 Labour Day
Fri, April 19 Good Friday Mon, Oct 14 Thanksgiving Day
Mon, May 20 Victoria Day Wed, Dec 25 Christmas Day
Mon, July 1 Canada Day Thurs, Dec 26 Boxing Day

The Ontario Energy Board reviews and sets the rates for TOU every November 1 and May 1. Embedded in the TOU pricing is the Global Adjustment (GA). The GA is collected to account for variances in the wholesale generation market, sustain Green Generation contracts and support the various conservation programs for Ontario.

Please note that if you currently have a contract with an energy retailer or if you sign one, you may not be able to take advantage of Time-of-Use rates.

For more information on Ontario’s electricity pricing, please click here.