2019 Hydro Box Beautification Competition

October 16, 2019

In partnership with the Town of Niagara-on-the-Lake’s Communities in Bloom Committee and Niagara-on-the-Lake Hydro, the Niagara Pumphouse Arts Centre proudly presents an Exhibition of Artwork Submissions for the 2019 Hydro Box Beautification Competition. The exhibit will be displayed from December 12, 2019 to January 7, 2020.

Join us for the Opening Reception and Awards Celebration Party for the exhibit on Thursday, December 12th, from 7:00 PM to 9:00 PM at the Pumphouse. Enjoy a glass of wine and
nibbles, and help us celebrate all of the artists who forwarded submissions for this community building event. Their works will be on display in our Gallery. All of the public is welcome.

Winning artists are Elaine Bryck, Lindsey Kemp and Jennifer Penner. Prize money of $500 will be awarded for each of the three winning submissions on the evening of the Opening
Reception and Awards Celebration Party. Come and see some of what our local artists are up to!

The competition was open to artists who live, work or operate in the Niagara Region. Selected artworks are being transferred onto vinyl wraps that will serve to beautify the boxes at King and Ricardo Streets, Memorial Park off King Street, and Front Street near Victoria Street. This has been a pilot project, and we hope to expand on this endeavour in the future.

The idea of Hydro Box beautification came from Tim Curtis, President of NOTL Hydro, in an effort to promote local partnerships with the Town of Niagara-on-the-Lake, the Communities in Bloom Committee, and the Pumphouse Arts Centre. Hydro Box Beautification projects have been successful in many other communities, and so with this collaborative effort in Niagara-on-the-Lake, we hope to strengthen our relationships with our local partners and further beautify our town.

Thank you to Niagara-on-the-Lake Hydro, the Niagara-on-the-Lake Communities in Bloom Committee, the Niagara Pumphouse Arts Centre, and to those individuals who contributed their efforts to the project, including Tim Curtis, Lord Mayor Betty Disero, Kevin Turcotte, Diane Hemmings, Lise Andreana, and Cheryl Morris.